Past Honorees

2019: Paul Gorup, Cliff Illig and Neal Patterson (posthumously), Cerner Corporation
2018: Steve Case
2017: Moshe Safdie
2016: Dave and Demi Kiersznowski, Demdaco
2014: Philip Anschutz, The Anschutz Corporation
2013: Jim Sinegal, Costco
2012: Brian Lamb, C-SPAN
2011: Meg Whitman, eBay
2009: Arthur Blank, Home Depot
2008: Dr. Min Kao, Garmin, International
2007: Kate and Andy Spade, kate spade New York
2006: Richard T. Farmer, Cintas
2005: Henry Bloch, H&R Block
2004: Mark Goldston, United Online
2003: Lamar Hunt, Kansas City Chiefs – AFL
2002: Wayne Huizenga, Blockbuster
2001: William C. France, International Speedway Corporation – NASCAR
2000: Herb Kelleher, Southwest Airlines
1999: Robert Ballard, Institute for Exploration – Titanic Discovery
1998: Allen Neuharth, USA Today – Gannet Co., Inc.
1997: Abby M. O’Neil, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
1996: Ted Turner, Turner Broadcasting Systems
1995: Debbie Fields, Mrs. Fields Cookies
1994: Richard M. Schulze, Best Buy Co., Inc.
1993: Dick and Kari Clark, Dick Clark Productions, Inc.
1992: Jerome A. Chazen, Liz Claiborne, Inc.
1991: Geraldine Laybourne, Nickelodeon and Oxygen Networks
1990: Ross Perot Jr., Hillwood Development Corporation
1989: William E. Simon, U.S. Olympic Foundation – U.S. Treasury
1988: Richard M. Devos, Amway Corporation
1986: Malcolm “Steve” Forbes, Forbes, Inc.
1985: J. Peter Grace, W & R Grace and Company

2016: Ewing Marion Kauffman, Entrepreneur & Philanthropist

2019: Michael Rea, Rx Savings Solutions
2018: Toby Rush
2017: Sandy and Christine Kemper
2016: Gary Fish, Fishtech Labs
2015: Danny O’Neill
2014: Tim Barton, Freightquote
2013: David Brain, EPR Properties
2012: John McDonald, Boulevard Brewing Company
2011: Jerry Kelly, Teresa Walsh and Bonnie Kelly, Silpada Designs
2010: Mike Brown, Euronet Worldwide
2009: John J. Sherman, Inergy
2008: Dan Lowe, RED Development
2007: L. William Zahner, A. Zahner Company
2006: G. Kenneth Baum, George K. Baum and Company
2005: James E. Ferrell, Ferrellgas
2004: Hugh Zimmer, The Zimmer Companies
2003: William “Doc” Worley, Kingston Environmental Services
2002: Thomas Sanders, Midwest Mechanical Contractors
2001: Thomas McDonnell, DST Systems, Inc.
2000: Fred Merrill, Cereal Food Processors, Inc.
1999: Stanley Durwood, AMC Entertainment
1998: Kathleen W. Andrews and John P. McMeel, Andrews McMeel Universal
1997: Abe J. Gustin, Applebees International
1996: John T. Lockton III, Lockton Companies
1995: Rich Davis, K.C. Masterpiece Barbeque
1994: Clifford W. Illig and Neal L. Patterson, Cerner Corporation
1993: Barnett C. Helzberg Jr., Helzberg Diamonds, Inc.
1992: James E. Stowers Jr., American Century Investments
1991: Richard C. Thompson, American Italian Pasta Company
1990: James J. Kerwin, Bankers Life Insurance Company of New York
1989: Paul H. Henson, EMBARQ
1988: Terry Van Der Tuuk, Graphic Technology, Inc.
1986: Henry and Richard Bloch, H&R Block
1985: Ewing M. Kauffman, Marion Laboratories

2019: Maria Meyers, SourceLink
2018: Paul DeBruce
2017: BNIM, Mark One Electric, JE Dunn Construction, and U.S. Engineering
2016: Joe & Judy Roetheli, The Lil’ Red Foundation
2015: Gary White
2014: Sister Berta Sailer and Sister Corita Bussanmas, Operation Breakthrough
2013: Jim and Virginia Stowers, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
2012: Robert, Catherine and Victor Regnier
2011: Julia Irene Kauffman
2010: Terry and Peggy Dunn
2009: John and Susan McMeel
2008: Irv and Ellen Hockaday
2007: The Byron G. Thompson Family
2006: The Robert J. Reintjes, Sr. Family
2005: Barbara and Bill Nelson
2004: Fred and Shirley Pryor
2003: Al Mauro
2002: Beth Smith
2001: Barnett and Shirley Helzberg
2000: Jeannette Nichols
1999: William Dunn, Sr.
1998: Steve Metzler
1997: Sharon and John Hoffman
1996: The Hall Family: Adele and Donald Hall, Jill and Donald Hall, Jr., Margi and W. Keith Pence, and Laura and David Hall
1995: Mary Shaw Branton
1994: Bunni Copaken