Deil S. Wright Symposium Schedule

Below is the proposed agenda for the Deil S. Wright Symposium. The Symposium will take place Friday, March 14 from 8:30 am-5:00 pm during the 2014 Annual Conference.

Understanding Intergovernmental Relations: Reflections and Directions

Location: Rhode Island
8:15 am: Continental Breakfast
8:30-8:45 am: Welcome by David Hamilton, chair, Section on Intergovernmental Administration & Management (SIAM) Mark Wright, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
8:45-10:00 am: Panel - The Potomac Pipeline

Paul Posner, George Mason University, and Stanley Czerwinski, U.S. Government Accountability Office, "Medicine Ball Federalism"

Bruce Perlman, University of New Mexico

Michael Scicchitano, University of Florida

Yahong Zhang, Rutgers University at Newark, "Cracks in the Glass Slipper: Local Government Managers' Perceptions and Cinderella Federalism"

Shihyun Noh and Dale Krane, University of Nebraska at Omaha, "Partisan Polarization, Administrative Capacity, and State Discretion in the Affordable Care Act"

Introduction/Moderator: Beverly Cigler, Penn State Harrisburg


10:00-10:15 am: Break
10:15-11:30 am: Panel - The Devolution Debate

John Kincaid, Lafayette College, "Intergovernmental Cooperation in Policy Implementation Under Coercive Federalism"

Emily Bieda McCartha and Casey Fleming, North Carolina State University, and Toddi Steelman, University of Saskatchewan, "Mission Alignment and Misalignment in Multi-Jurisdictional, Multi-Governmental Wildfire Disaster Response"

Jocelyn Johnston and Rebecca Yurman, American University, "Food Safety and the Diffusion of Federal Regulation"

Moderator/Discussant: Cynthia Lynch, University of Texas-Pan American


11:30 am -12:30 pm: Panel -The Intergovernmental Lobby

Don Borut, former executive director, National League of Cities

Ray Scheppach, former Executive Director, National Governors Association

Robert O'Neill, Executive Director, International City/County Management Association

Moderator/Discussant: Alan Rosenbaum, President-Elect, ASPA


12:30-1:30 pm: Lunch Break
1:30-2:45 pm: Panel - Laboratories of Democracy at Work

Robert Agranoff, Indiana University, and Beryl Radin, Georgetown University, "Deil Wright's Overlapping Model of Intergovernmental Relations: The Basis for Contemporary Intergovernmental Relationships"

Ann O'M. Bowman, Texas A&M University, and Richard C. Kearney, North Carolina State University, "Transforming State-Local Relations"

Susan Paddock, University of Wisconsin, "Professional Development Applied Projects: Street-Level Laboratories of Democracy"

Moderator/Discussant: Harvey White, University of Pittsburgh, former ASPA President


2:45-3:00 pm: Break
3:00-4:15: Panel - Beyond Contingent Collaboration

Ricardo Morse and Carl Stenberg, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, "Leveraging Local Change: The States' Role"

Richard Rasa and Helena Sims, U.S. Department of Education, "Lessons in Effective Intergovernmental Collaboration"

Edwin Benton, University of South Florida, "Intergovernmental Relations in the Early 21st Century: Emergence of a New Phase?"

Moderator/Discussant: APSA Section on Federalism & IGR representative (Invited)


4:15-5:00 pm: Understanding Intergovernmental Relations: A Deil Wright Perspective

Former Students & Collaborators: Brendan Burke, Suffolk University, Jeff Brudney, Eastern Carolina University, and Christine Kelleher Palus, Villanova University

5:00 pm: Adjournment - David Hamilton

Henry W. Bloch School of Management
5110 Cherry Street
Kansas City, MO 64110

Linked In Youtube Twitter Facebook