Alumni Stories

Bloch School alumni can be found in the private, public and nonprofit sectors, making important contributions and making a difference, center stage and behind the scenes.

Want to share a story? Email Dionne Lewis, call 816-235-6128 or submit online through the Class Notes form.

Class Notes

Scott Ast (MPA '91) recently published his second book, Managing Crises Overseas

Dr. Sergio Canavati (MBA '09, Ph.D. '15) joins the business school faculty at Sonoma State University

Col. Thomas Burke (Executive MBA '09) received command of the 130th Field Artillery Brigade of the Kansas National Guard on Sept. 18

Natasha Kirsch (MPA '14) creates a path out of poverty with The Grooming Project

David S. Wiley (BS '91) Kansas City Hospice & Palliative Care appoints David Wiley as new CEO

David Bernstein (MBA '95) recently launched Squix - the first online retailer exclusively devoted to germ-fighting products

Mike Plunkett (BS '91) is co-founder, COO and CFO of PayIt, a startup that recently won third place in the U.S. Conference of Mayors and Code for America Tech Innovation Pitch. This honor was announced at SXSW.

Greg Farmer (EMBA '12) named Kansas City Star managing editor

Terry Dunn (MBA '73) and Peggy Dunn will be recognized by Nonprofit Connect with the Volunteer of the Year Award

Jade Tinner (BBA '12) Marketing Director and Co-owner of Kansas City's women's professional basketball team

Angela K. McElhaney (BS '97), Partner, Marks Nelson was featured as Newsmaker in Kansas City Business Journal

Erin A. Barrett (BBA '91), Owner, Barrett Insurance Agency (State Farm) was featured in a Shawnee Dispatch Face to Face article and recently opened a new office

Karen Bell-Dancy (EMBA '01) named Executive Director of the Lincoln YWCA

Chazny Morris (BA '10, MPA '13) inducted into the UMKC Athletics Hall of Fame-Women's Basketball from 2006-2010

James Bronner (MBA '00) named Waverly, IA City Manager

Gillian Helm (MPA '10) named Executive Director of Literacy Kansas City

Brian Dale Newby (BA '85, MPA '90) named Executive Director and General Counsel for the United States Election Assistance Commission (formerly the Johnson County Election Commissioner)

Three graduates were named to Ingram's 20 in the Twenties List.

  • Laura Boswell, (BBA '08 & MBA '13)
  • Jordan Brunk, (EMBA '13)
  • Ben Pepper, (MERE '14)


Frank C. Swinney (BBA '57)
Dr. James S. Crabtree (MBA '63)
William R. Betker (MBA '74)
Roy Victor Ekberg (MBA '67)
Lloyd Edward Rethemeyer II (BBA '73)
Gary Michael Bridges (BBA '82)
Bernether Macklin (CU '84)
Donald R. Bailey (BS '83)
Deborah E. Rose (BBA '78 )
Larry R. Blessing (BBA '65)
Dr. Robert A. Morantz (MPA '95)
Benny B. Inzerillo (BBA'68)
Charles K. McClellan (BBA '81)
Robert Weinstein (BBA '69, MBA '69)
John Russell Coonrod (CU '69)
Donald Irl Gent (MPA '69)
Kurt Alberto Pfahl (MBA '77)
Mark Fasbinder (BBA '81)
Fred G. Andrews (MPA '98)
Laura Ann Harper Williamson (BBA '96)
Charles K. McClellan (BBA '81)
Melisa Ann Reinhardt Stasko (BBA '89)
Dominick Vincent Brocato (MBA '74)
William Barrett (BBA '57)
Robert Mark Bringewatt (BBA '85)
Deborah L. McCabe (EMBA '04)
Ronald Riggs (MBA '71)
Alce P. Hebert (BBA '76)
Lt. William G. Kemmitt (MPA '81)
Kathryn Ruth Hoefer (BBA '79)

Henry W. Bloch School of Management
5110 Cherry Street
Kansas City, MO 64110

Linked In Youtube Twitter Facebook


Website and contents ©2012